Florian Ledoux

Florian Ledoux
Arctic Wildlife Photographer

About Florian Ledoux

With his impressive polar images, award-winning photographer Florian Ledoux expresses his passion for trying to preserve the ever-shrinking marine reserve in the northernmost regions of our planet. On his expeditions the photographer captures unique moments that threaten to disappear at any moment, supported by latest technologies such as his drone.

Not only does nature seem to change spontaneously in, this moment, but also in a long-term and moving way - evoked by our changing global environmental conditions. It seems like a fight against time to capture the uniqueness of the Arctic. By doing so Ledoux explores one of the greatest achievements of photography, visualizing the invisible through aesthetics and abstraction. So it seems as if the polar bear desperately needs to change the ice floes because literally, the ground melts under his feet. Birds are forced to line up as the habitat becomes increasingly scarce.

Florian Ledoux's passion for photography has already raised in young age. Later when he professionalized his hobby, he first became a photojournalist of the French naval forces, while he started his own parallel projects in Greenland. Above all, it is the beauty of the diverse Arctic wildlife which has always inspired him besides classical photography (as by Vincent Munier, Paul Nicklen, or Sebastião Salgado).

Awards

Ledoux's work has been published in such publications as National Geographic, Oceanographic, Photo Cult, The Guardian, BBC, and The Times released. Of the International Union for the Conservation of Nature and natural resources (also World Conservation Union, short: IUCN) he was recognized and presented, as well as in Museum Biosphere exhibited in Montreal.

His philosophy

The most memorable time was without a doubt the encounter with these majestic yet gentle animals. For me, there is no better feeling than being close to these magnificent mammals and sharing space with them. I will always remember when I saw my first polar bear, I cried during the three hours we stayed near them. I spotted them swimming and when I left my binoculars to tell our captain, I cried again.

When I find myself in the remote Arctic, in harmony with the wildlife, I know that everything makes sense here. I know because I feel it deep inside me. It is a deep vibration that consumes my body and soul as a whole. At that moment I feel the urge to create a picture that I would remember for the rest of my life. These moments are most precious to me, something happens in me. I live for that. When I take pictures, I am somewhere else. It is my passion and purpose to serve the preservation of Arctic wildlife.

"I believe in a new perspective of capturing wildlife. In a way not possible before, a new way of learning about the white I believe these images allow us to observe and discuss their behavior north of our planet. It is more than time to act and to buy more Marine Conservation Areas. "

Photo art by Florian Ledoux:

Florian Ledoux

Florian Ledoux
Arctic Wildlife Photographer

Über Florian Ledoux

Mit den eindrucksvollen Polaraufnahmen drückt der vielfach ausgezeichnete Fotograf Florian Ledoux seine Leidenschaft aus, den Versuch zu unternehmen, das immer weiter schwindende Meeresschutzgebiet in den nördlichsten Regionen unseres Planeten zu konservieren. Auf seinen Expeditionen fängt der Autodidakt einmalige Augenblicke ein, die jeden Moment zu verschwinden drohen, unterstützt durch modernste Technologien, wie etwa seiner Drohne.

Nicht nur in diesem Moment scheint sich die Natur spontan zu verändern, sondern auch auf einer langfristigen und bewegenden Weise – hervorgerufen durch unsere veränderten globalen Umweltbedingungen. Es scheint wie ein Kampf gegen die Zeit, die Einzigartigkeit der Arktis einzufangen. Womit er einer der größten Errungenschaften der Fotografie gerecht wird, durch Ästhetik und Abstraktion das Unsichtbare sichtbar zu machen. So scheint es, als würde der Eisbär verzweifelt die Eisschollen wechseln müssen, da ihm buchstäblich der Boden unter Füßen wegschmilzt. Vögel zwängen sich auf eine Linie, da der Lebensraum immer knapper wird.

Mit 12 Jahren waren es gemeinsame Reisen mit seiner Familie, die in Florian Ledoux fotografische Leidenschaft geweckt haben. Als er sein Hobby professionalisierte, wurde er zunächst zum Fotoreporter der Französischen Seestreitmächte, während er parallel eigenen Projekte in Grönland begann. Vor allem ist es die Schönheit der vielfältigen, arktischen Tierwelt, den fotografischen Reportagen nach zu urteilen, wobei er sich immer schon von der klassischen Fotografie (wie in etwa von Vincent Munier, Paul Nicklen, oder Sebastião Salgado) inspirieren ließ.

Awards

Ledoux’s Arbeiten wurden unter anderem in Publikationen wie National Geographic, Oceanographic, Photo Cult, The Guardian, BBC, und The Times veröffentlicht. Von der Internationalen Union zur Bewahrung der Natur und natürlicher Ressourcen (auch Weltnaturschutzunion, kurz: IUCN) wurde er anerkannt und präsentiert, sowie im Museum Biosphère in Montreal ausgestellt.

Seine Philosophie

Die denkwürdigste Zeit war zweifellos die Begegnung mit diesen majestätischen und doch sanften Tieren. Für mich gibt es kein besseres Gefühl, als diesen prächtigen Säugetieren nahe zu sein und mit ihnen einen Raum zu teilen. Ich werde mich immer daran erinnern, als ich meinen ersten Eisbären sah, weinte ich während der drei Stunden, die wir in seiner Nähe blieben. Ich entdeckte ihn schwimmend und als ich mein Fernglas verließ, um es unserem Kapitän mitzuteilen, weinte ich wieder.

Wenn ich mich in der abgelegenen Arktis wiederfinde, in Harmonie mit der Tierwelt, weiß ich, dass hier alles Sinn macht. Ich weiß es, weil ich es tief in mir fühle. Es ist eine tiefe Schwingung, die meinen Körper und meine Seele in ihrer Gesamtheit verzehrt. In diesem Moment kommt mir der Drang ein Bild zu schaffen, an das ich mich für den Rest meines Lebens erinnern würde. Diese Momente sind von unschätzbarem Wert für mich, etwas geschieht in mir. Dafür lebe ich. Wenn ich fotografiere, bin ich woanders. Es ist meine Leidenschaft und Bestimmung, der Erhaltung der arktischen Tierwelt zu dienen.

„I believe in and aspire to bring a new perspective of capturing wildlife we already know well from traditional photography. I believe these images allow us to observe and document their behavior from a new angle and approach, revealing the animals in their entirety as well as in a wider habitat and landscape, in a way not possible before, a new way of learning about the white north of our planet. It is more than about time to act and I want my photos to help conservation by creating more Marine Conservation Areas.“

Fotokunst von Florian Ledoux:

82,00 2.721,00 
82,00 2.721,00 
82,00 2.721,00 
82,00 2.721,00 
82,00 2.721,00 
82,00 2.721,00